The AARO Racing Forum

Home of the American Automobile Racing Organization
HomePortalCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistRegisterLog in
Log in
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Similar topics
 Forum Index
Latest topics

Display results as :
Rechercher Advanced Search
Who is online?
In total there are 2 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests


Most users ever online was 69 on Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:25 pm
We have 112 registered users
The newest registered user is coolcokekid22

Our users have posted a total of 43467 messages in 2793 subjects
Top posters
7 (7737)
Jesse Pizzajarvi (4127)
DLeck6211 (3618)
Its Webzic (3205)
Tanrar (2917)
VincentGiac426 (2364)
VerizonGuy12 (1985)
kensethfan (1905)
Tyson Lautenschlager (1658)
Jrod (1642)

Share | 

 All-Star Pre-Race Thread & Predictions

Go down 

Posts : 2364
Join date : 2009-05-30
Age : 24

PostSubject: All-Star Pre-Race Thread & Predictions   Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:34 pm

Lead Changes: The qualifying heats last night did not see much action, as there was only one lead change throughout both races combined. However, there are two variables in play that may seriously reduce the chance for a repeat of this. First of all, the main event will be much longer than those two sprints. Second, a rain shower hit the track around 30 minutes after the qualifiers had finished, washing away the rubber that had accumulated on the racing surface and rendering the track "green". This will undoubtedly affect the handling of the AERS cars when they hit the track again, and we should the lead change hands 3 to 10 times throughout the course of the race.

Caution Flags: Last year's Yung Guns event at this track saw only four caution periods in its entirety of 75 laps. One should expect a few more than that in the All-Star, however, as the AMP series cars pack more horsepower than the AYG cars did.

Move of the Race: Again, going back to last year's AEYG event, the pass for the win was made by Fred Baker with less than 10 laps to go. With engine performance in mind, the battle may not be as down-to-the-wire, but one should expect a fight at the front with around 25 to go.

Winner/Contender Predictions:

1) Justin Pisani, #16 Verizon Wireless Dodge Charger

Pisani's driving style tends to favor tracks with tight, low-speed corners, which is definitely the case with Mesa Marin, as he finished second in the Yung Guns race here last year. His first AERS victory came at Nox Raceway, a course known for its tricky turns. This year, he placed 4th at Grand Detour and ran at the front in the McKinley 200 until a crash took him out of the running. Look for Pisani to display his short-track prowess once again tonight.

2) Aaron Fisher, #90 DuPont Chevrolet Impala

Arguably one of the biggest underdogs in the 2010 points battle, the driver/owner has never placed below 18th in five short-track events this year. His best two finishes on bullrings were a fifth at Sarnia and a third at Grand Detour. Let's not forget that he also came about 3 car lengths short of winning the inaugural race at McKinley Speedway, a track that, in shape, is similar to the one he and many other drivers will tackle tonight. Can this Fisher finally reel in the big one and win tonight? It's definitely possible.

3) Herb Cilantro, #42 Chevrolet Impala

Just one look at his racing credentials proves why this man can win here. He grew up wrestling late models around the 36-degree banks of Bristol Motor Speedway and already has a (quite illustrious) short-track win to his credit. Not to mention 426 Motorsports has more experience at Mesa Marin than most other teams - they fielded Jennifer Smith's Yung Guns entry when she raced here in 2009.

Back to top Go down
All-Star Pre-Race Thread & Predictions
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» 2012 Olympic Prediction Thread
» Predictions for Div 6 for Sunday 7th
» Predictions for the prem?
» The Costume Thread....
» Terrel Bramwell dunking at ROPSSAA All Star game

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The AARO Racing Forum :: American Automobile Racing Organization :: AARO AMP Energy Racing Series (AERS) :: Series Information-
Jump to: